Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Mercenaries Saga 2 Review (3DS)

maxresdefault (1)
Game: Mercenaries Saga 2
Developer: Rideon Inc.
Publisher: CIRCLE Entertainment
Release Date: July 2, 2015
Price: $4.99
Mercenaries Saga 2 is a Tactical RPG game developed by Ride On and published by CIRCLE Entertainment. 

This is a story of Claude, the captain of the Kingdom's Order of the Silver Eagle. One day, during his guard duty with the Prince Laz, a group of assassins appeared and tries to assassinate the prince. Claude covers the prince to let him
escape. But on his way back, he spotted the prince with an assassin who is trying to kill him. Luckily, he was not too late and saved the prince from getting killed. Unfortunately, the prince was still scratched with a sword coated with
poison. The poison was not ordinary and a regular antidote would not be able to cure it. This starts the journey of Claude to find the special antidote to cure the prince. You will meet new companions during your journey, visit other
villages, fight bandits and group of monsters. Embark to a journey full of twists.
The art style is similar to Final Fantasy Tactics. Features detailed character's design. You can see the weapon equipped on each character. The surroundings in the game are highly detailed too.
The gameplay is similar to other Tactical RPG game. At the start of each battle, you will be able to place your characters anywhere on the starting blocks. Early missions will only let you take 3-4 characters in the battle. You can
choose who goes first by cycling through your characters. Attack your enemies using regular attacks, skills, items or magics. There are also support skills, magic and items that you can use to improve your characters. It basically plays
like the other Tactical RPG games (Final Fantasy Tactics, Tactic Orgre, etc.).
Each character has a certain class. You will not be able to switch to another class. You can only upgrade your class to an advanced class. There are 2 branches for each character's class. You can choose which branch to take, each with
their own skills you can acquire. You can only switch to the next class when you've reached a certain level. There is also a hidden class for each character. The hidden class can only be acquired when you reach a certain level and by
purchasing a certain item in the shop. You can only buy this item by acquiring a puzzle piece which can only be acquired in the later part of the game. These puzzle pieces can be acquired when you open a chest and some are hidden in the
field and can only be seen when you use the "Search" skill, use an item to search the area or just press "Investigate", if available, on the spot where your character is standing. Each class can only equip a certain Weapon and Armor. You
can buy the weapons and armors in the Shop which can only be accessed after each battle.
Each character will only join during a certain part in the story. You will not be able to hire additional characters.
About the skills, you can upgrade each skill by using skill points. Upgrading a skill can boost its attack power, range, area of damage, etc. Max level for each skill is 8. Some skills have lower max level. Skill points can be acquired
after finishing a mission. Additional skills can be unlocked by moving to an advanced class. You will need to use skill points on the skills you wish to unlock for that class.
You can also play "Free Battle" to grind experience, gold and skill points. You can unlock more maps in the "Free Battle" mode each time you finish a story mission.
Each character will start with a certain amount of MP. MP will be recovered each turn. You can also use items to recover your MP faster. The amount of MP that will be recovered will be based on the MP recovery rate of each character. You
can upgrade the MP recovery rate by upgrading a certain skill of your characters (only available on some class) or by equipping an equipment with a MP recovery bonus.

If you are a big fan of Tactical RPG games like Final Fantasy Tactics, then I am sure that you will like this game too. There are some points in the game where you will be given an option to choose your response. You may get a Bad or Good ending depending on your response. I sadly got the bad ending on my first playthrough. This game also has a New Game+. The Gold remaining, skill points and all unique equipment (Green name) will be carried over to the New Game+. You will also unlock a higher difficulty mode. This game took me 17 hours to finish. It's a must have for TRPG fans. Plus, this game is just $5!

Score: ➍ / ➎


1 MlWA77v3ttIp8gZE1F MlWA77v9WKMU9YZteN MlWA77v12OgautChKu MlWA77wc_jMh0aFKuu MlWA77wE9vcyUBumYw MlWA77wEjBgMmYLDxU MlWA77wFJX4_ukL5bt MlWA77wM8CMTIuAJ3D MlWA77xbJeYdBJI6J5